Feedly

http://www.Feedly.com

I hadn’t ridden a bicycle since I was about 19 years old, but when I bought a bike about a year ago I had no trouble riding it.  The adage that “You never forget how to ride a bike” is entirely accurate.  User experience and interface design are NOT like bicycles.  If you aren’t up to date, you’re bound to make critical errors.

As an Android user, I was unaware how dated this carousel is:

icarousel-776

I should have known.  This cost me a job.

This is the reason that I both keep a blog and read everything I can get my hands on.  I write here everyday whether or not I have a really great idea or just want to pass along a tidbit of information or a link.  The goal is to stay up to date.

Nothing keeps me up-to-date better than Feedly.

I am an RSS reader fiend.  My entire reader is set up to include ONLY UX/UI/IA/design websites.  I don’t use it for news, sports, weather, or Facebook.  I just read about UX.https://i1.wp.com/sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/556979_10151065097331825_1246254670_n.png

Google normally has great UX/UI, but Google Reader is just an eyesore.  Aesthetically it is pathetic, and the usability is suspect at best.  I missed really great articles on Google Reader because I couldn’t find them.  Every other Google application, tool, or product I’ve used has been smooth and easy to read and Google Reader is just the black sheep of the Google family.

When I searched for a way to change these problems I downloaded just about everything I could find….but there was really only one tool that was useful, aesthetic, and that I loved.

I love my Feedly, I’m logged in as long as I’m on a computer, and because of Feedly I’ve been able to keep up with really important concepts and best practices.  My career is built on being informed and Feedly keeps me informed quickly and efficiently.

Leave a Reply

